Certificate in Healthcare Spanish

The Healthcare Spanish Certificate Program has 18 units, of which 8 units are Lower Division and 7 units are Upper Division, in addition to 3 units of service-learning. 

Certificates may be earned by regularly matriculated or extended learning students and denote successful completion of a prescribed program of study designed to:

  1. impart specified professional/vocational/career competencies; or
  2. produce mastery of the content of a sub-field of an academic major (discipline); or
  3. provide exposure to the range of materials in a traditional or emerging interdisciplinary field.

Certain certificate programs contain 6000-level courses as requirements and/or electives. These 6000-level courses may not be taken by undergraduate students. Candidates must receive two-thirds of their certificate-applicable credit from the university. The transferring of credit or the substitution of courses may occur only after application to the appropriate campus authority.


Certificate Requirements (18 Units)

Certificate Requirements (15)
SPAN 2251Intermediate Healthcare Spanish I4
SPAN 2252Intermediate Healthcare Spanish II4
SPAN 3051Culture, Health, and Food in Latin America3
SPAN 4401Spanish for the Professions 3
SPAN 4402Spanish for the Professions Activity 1
Service Learning (3)
Three units chosen from:3
Study Abroad and International Experience
SW 4011, SW 4012 or any 5000-level internship related to health care
Total Units18